PTK Chapter welcomes 27

December 11, 2018 by Anonymous

Alpha Gamma Tau Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK), the international honor society of two-year college students, welcomed 27 new members during an induction ceremony, Friday, December 7, at Northland Pioneer College’s Snowflake/Taylor – Silver Creek Campus Performing Arts Center.

New inductees to NPC's PTK Chapter with regional officeers and advisors.
Inductees, regional officers and chapter advisors pause for a group photo before the induction ceremony.

NPC President Mark Vest addressed the assembled inductees, families and friends, applauding their academic achievement and urging them to continue to “climb the hill, then look out at the future.”

Keynote speaker was Betsyann Wilson, executive director of NPC Friends & Family, encouraged the inductees to keep striving for excellence and giving back to their communities. Wilson cited the efforts of the late Prescott Winslow, a retired career counselor and NPC Board member, who strived to “change someone's life today.” Wilson stressed, “choose to leave the world a better place.”

For the first time in the chapter's history, regional student PTK officers participated in the ceremony. Attending were Trevor Bailey and Giabriella Estrada (Central District President) from Mesa Community College, Yahil Mendoza Rubio from Phoenix College and Amanda Gonzales from Estrella Mountain Community College.

Chapter President Amanda Hatch and Estrada gave the charge to the inductees. Assisting with the ceremony were chapter advisor April Horne, and NPC faculty members Dr. Inez Schaechterle and Dr. Susan Hoffman. All three are PTK members. The ceremony concluded with a dessert reception served by Student Services staff.

To be eligible for membership, students must complete a minimum of 12 hours of associate degree course work and earn a grade point average of 3.5 or higher. Students must maintain a high academic standing throughout their enrollment in the two-year college, generally a 3.25 GPA. As members, students are eligible for a number of scholarship programs, and in some cases, distinguished placement at four-year colleges and universities.

For membership information, contact an NPC academic adviser, or PTK chapter adviser April Horne at (800) 266-7845, ext. 6143.

Joining the NPC chapter were:

  • Brooke Alexander
  • Karlene Begay
  • Kristen Burnette
  • Rhiannon Cain
  • Leanna Crocker
  • Ashley DeMaria
  • Kathaleena Dewitt
  • Cassie Dows
  • Simran Galhotra
  • Katie Gibson
  • Jeffrey Hamilton
  • Kianna Hansen
  • Susan Thompson
  • Bryce Johnson
  • Jocilyn McCleve
  • Nicole McConnell
  • Lori Moore
  • Talya Orinski
  • Jamie Ortega
  • Raney Pate
  • Britainy Pennington
  • Ariel Proffer
  • Jalen Quintero
  • Meagan Rogers
  • McKenna Sargent
  • Austin Stanislawski
  • Rachel Sutton

Photos and a video from the induction ceremony can be viewed and downloaded from

– – – N P C – Expanding Minds • Transforming Lives – – –